content | navigation | back


United States Department of Agriculture
National Agricultural Statistics Service

images of U.S. agricuture
Print Masthead

Search NASS Advanced SearchSearch TipsBrowse NASS by Subject Crops and Plants Demographics Economics Environmental Livestock and Animals Charts and Maps Research and Science Education and Outreach Statistics by State #
You are here:  Home /


  E-mail this page E-mail
  Bookmark & ShareBookmark
   resize text smallresize text mediumresize text large

Contact: Sue King, 202-690-8122
or Michelle Radice 202-690-8141


Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack Names Members to the Advisory Committee on Agriculture Statistics

WASHINGTON, Feb. 21, 2013 –Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack has appointed 20 members to serve on the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Advisory Committee on Agriculture Statistics. The committee advises the Secretary on surveys of agriculture and other related surveys; the periodic census of agriculture; and, the types of agricultural information to obtain from respondents. The committee also prepares recommendations regarding the content of agricultural reports and presents the views and needs for data of major suppliers and users of agriculture statistics. The committee draws on the experience and expertise of its members to form a collective judgment concerning agricultural data collected and the statistics issued by the National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS).
The Advisory Committee on Agriculture Statistics was re-established by a charter issued on June 5, 2012. Members of the committee have a broad range of knowledge and interest in, though not limited to, agricultural economics; rural sociology; farm policy analysis; and agricultural education. Members were also drawn from representatives of state and local governments; agriculture-related industries and trade or marketing associations; major national farm organizations; and producer groups. Members serve 2-year terms as per the committee charter.

Those appointed members are:

Mr. James M. Baise, Bloomington, Indiana
Mr. Jose A. (Agapito) Candelaria, Los Ojos, New Mexico
Dr. Beth Carroll, Greensboro, North Carolina
Mrs. Rosalee K. Coleman, George West, Texas
Dr. Jennifer Dennis, West Lafayette, Indiana
Mr. Zachary W. Ducheneaux, Gettysburg, South Dakota
Dr. Carole R. Engle, Pine Bluff, Arkansas
Dr. John C. Foltz, Moscow, Idaho
Dr. Jon Michael Hagler, California, Missouri
Mr. Douglas A. Huebsch, Perham, Minnesota
Dr. Larry Leonard Janssen, Volga, South Dakota
Dr. John D. Lawrence, Ames, Iowa
Ms. Ariane E. Lotti, Washington, DC
Mr. Carl R. Mattson, Chester, Montana
Mr. Roger S. Mix, Center, Colorado
Dr. Jean D. Opsomer, Fort Collins, Colorado
Dr. Emmett Redd, Springfield, Missouri
Dr. Lawrence E. Sanchez, Los Lunas, New Mexico
Ms. Louise Waterman, Montpelier, Vermont
Dr. Robert D. Yonkers, Springfield, Virginia




NASS provides accurate, timely, useful and objective statistics in service to U.S. agriculture. We invite you to provide occasional feedback on our products and services. Sign up at and look for “NASS Data User Community.”

USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer and lender. To file a complaint of discrimination, write: USDA, Director, Office of Civil Rights, 1400 Independence Ave., S.W., Washington, D.C. 20250-9410 or call (800) 795-3272 (voice), or (202) 720-6382 (TDD).





I Want To
Subscribe to News Releases
Browse NASS multimedia broadcasts
Learn about the NASS RSS Feeds
Find NASS Media Contacts
Learn more about NASS Education and Outreach programs
Previous News Releases