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TO THE PERSON ADDRESSED: 
 
This letter is to alert you that the fee to defray the cost of the 2014 crop year Grape Crush Report and Grape Acreage 
Report has been established by the Secretary as required by Section 55601.6 of the Food and Agricultural Code.  A 
copy of the order establishing these fees is on the reverse side of this letter. 
 
The assessment fee for the 2014 marketing season, beginning July 1, 2014 and ending June 30, 2015, has been 
established at ten cents ($0.10) per ton on all grapes received in California for crushing, fresh weight equivalent.  
The fee is to be paid to the California Department of Food and Agriculture (CDFA) by each processor who crushes 
grapes.  One-half or five cents ($0.05) per ton of the fee may be deducted by the processor from monies owed to the 
producer.  Of this assessment, six cents ($0.06) is for preparing the Grape Crush Report; four cents ($0.04) is for 
preparing the Grape Acreage Report.  
 
The fee for all grapes received for crushing from July 1, 2014 through December 15, 2014 is to be paid to CDFA by 
the processor on or before January 10, 2015.  The fee for all grapes received for crushing from December 16, 2014 
through June 30, 2015 is to be paid on or before June 30, 2015. 
 
Assessment forms for remitting the fees will be mailed to vintners about December 1, 2014, so you will have them 
in time to meet the January 10 and June 30 deadlines. 
 
The Pierce’s Disease Control Program assessment fee will be seventy-five cents ($0.75) per one thousand dollars 
($1,000) of value. Please note that this is unchanged from last year’s assessment.  The Pierce’s Disease 
assessment is the responsibility of the producer.  However, the purchaser and/or processor are responsible for 
collecting the amount owed by the producer and subsequently remitting it to the department.  For your winery’s own 
grapes or grapes not purchased, you are required to pay the assessment based on the previous year’s value of those 
grapes as reported in Table 10 of the 2013 Grape Crush Report.  All funds collected from growers and/or due for 
your own grapes will be remitted with the Grape Crush Report no later than January 10, 2015.  There is no 
exemption for wineries crushing fewer than 100 tons of their own or any grower’s grapes. 
 
If you have any questions about the grape crush assessment fees or reporting times, please contact Jennifer Van 
Court or Lena Schwedler at (916) 498-5161, Agricultural Statistics Branch, California Department of Food and 
Agriculture, 650 Capitol Mall, Suite 6-100, Sacramento, CA  95814.  Any questions about the Pierce’s Disease 
Control Program should be referred to that Program at (916) 900-5024. 
 
Sincerely, 

 
 
 
Jeff Cesca, Acting Director 
Marketing Services Division 



ORDER OF THE DEPARTMENT OF FOOD AND AGRICULTURE 

ESTABLISHING A FEE ON PRODUCERS AND PROCESSORS OF GRAPES 

RECEIVED FOR CRUSHING DURING THE 2014 MARKETING SEASON, 

JULY 1, 2014 THROUGH JUNE 30, 2015 
 
 
 WHEREAS, the Department of Food and Agriculture of the State of California acting 
pursuant to and by virtue of the authority vested by the provisions of Chapter 6, Division 20, of 
the Food and Agricultural Code, and 
 
 WHEREAS, the Department has determined that fees of six cents ($0.06) and four cents 
($0.04) per ton of grapes received for crushing, fresh weight equivalent, are proper, equitable and 
necessary to cover the costs of the Grape Crush Report and the Grape Acreage Report, 
respectively, for the 2014 crop and 
 
 WHEREAS, in accordance with the provisions of Section 55601.6 of the Food and 
Agricultural Code, a total fee of ten cents ($0.10) per ton of grapes received for crushing, fresh 
weight equivalent, including any grapes produced by the processor is to be paid by the processor 
who crushes the grapes; one-half of the fee or five cents ($0.05) per ton of grapes received for 
crushing may be deducted from monies owed to the producer of the grapes. 
 
 NOW, THEREFORE, the Department of Food and Agriculture of the State of California 
does hereby approve and establish the fee of ten cents ($0.10) per ton of grapes received for 
crushing, fresh weight equivalent, including any grapes produced by the processor to be paid by 
the processor who crushes the grapes during the 2014 marketing season beginning July 1, 2014 
and ending June 30, 2015 one-half of the fee or five cents ($0.05) per ton of grapes received for 
crushing may be deducted from monies owed to the producer of the grapes. 
 
 
Karen Ross 
Secretary of Food and Agriculture 
 
By:   
 
Jeff Cesca, Acting Director 
Marketing Services Division 

 


