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TO THE PERSON ADDRESSED: 

 

This letter is to notify you that the fee to defray the cost of the 2016 crop year Grape Crush Report and Grape Acreage Report 

has been established by the Secretary as required by Section 55601.6 of the Food and Agricultural Code.  A copy of the order 

establishing these fees is on the reverse side of this letter. 

 

The assessment fee for the 2016 marketing season, beginning July 1, 2016 and ending June 30, 2017, has been established at 

ten cents ($0.10) per ton on all grapes received in California for crushing, fresh weight equivalent.  Of this assessment, six 

cents ($.06) will defray the cost of preparing the Grape Crush Report; four cents ($.04) is for preparing the Grape Acreage 

Report.  The fee is to be paid to the California Department of Food and Agriculture (CDFA) by each processor who crushes 

grapes.  One-half or five cents ($0.05) per ton of the fee may be deducted by the processor from monies owed to the producer. 

The assessment is the same as last year.  

 

The fees for all grapes received for crushing from July 1, 2016 through December 15, 2016 are to be remitted to CDFA by the 

processor on or before January 10, 2017.  The Grape Crush Report will also be due on January 10, 2017.  The fee for all grapes 

received for crushing from December 16, 2016 through June 30, 2017 is to be paid on or before June 30, 2017. 

 

Assessment forms for remitting the fees will be mailed to vintners about December 1, 2016 in time to meet the January 10 and 

June 30 deadlines. 

 

The Pierce’s Disease Control Program assessment fee will be one dollar and twenty-five cents ($1.25) per one thousand dollars 

($1,000) of value. This is an increase from last year’s assessment. There is no exemption for wineries crushing fewer than 

100 tons of their own or any grower’s grapes and the Pierce’s Disease assessment is the responsibility of the producer.  

However, the purchaser and/or processor are responsible for collecting the amount owed by the producer and subsequently 

remitting it to CDFA.  For your winery’s own grapes or grapes not purchased, you are required to pay the assessment based on 

the previous year’s value of those grapes as reported in Table 10 of the 2015 Grape Crush Report.  All funds collected from 

growers and/or due for your own grapes will be remitted with the Grape Crush Report no later than January 10, 2017.   

 

If you have any questions about the grape crush assessment fees or reporting times, please contact Lena Schwedler or Jennifer 

Van Court at (916) 498-5161, Agricultural Statistics Branch, CDFA, 650 Capitol Mall, Suite 6-100, Sacramento, CA  95814.  

Any questions about the Pierce’s Disease Control Program and/or assessment may be referred to the Program at (916) 900-

5024. 

 

Sincerely, 

 
Jeff Cesca, Director 

Division of Marketing Services  

cc:  Pierce’s Disease 

                                                                                                                                                   



ORDER OF THE DEPARTMENT OF FOOD AND AGRICULTURE 

ESTABLISHING A FEE ON PRODUCERS AND PROCESSORS OF GRAPES 

RECEIVED FOR CRUSHING DURING THE 2016 MARKETING SEASON, 

JULY 1, 2016 THROUGH JUNE 30, 2017 
 

 

 WHEREAS, the Department of Food and Agriculture of the State of California acting pursuant to 

and by virtue of the authority vested by the provisions of Chapter 6, Division 20, of the Food and 

Agricultural Code, and 

 

 WHEREAS, the Department has determined that fees of six cents ($0.06) and four cents ($0.04) 

per ton of grapes received for crushing by processors who crush more than 100 tons of grapes, fresh weight 

equivalent, are proper, equitable and necessary to cover the costs of the Grape Crush Report and the Grape 

Acreage Report, respectively, for the 2016 crop and 

 

 WHEREAS, in accordance with the provisions of Section 55601.6 of the Food and Agricultural 

Code, a total fee of ten cents ($0.10) per ton of grapes received for crushing, fresh weight equivalent, 

including any grapes produced by the processor is to be paid by the processor who crushes the grapes; 

one-half of the fee or five cents ($0.05) per ton of grapes received for crushing may be deducted from 

monies owed to the producer of the grapes. 

 

 NOW, THEREFORE, the Department of Food and Agriculture of the State of California does 

hereby approve and establish the fee of ten cents ($0.10) per ton of grapes received for crushing, fresh 

weight equivalent, including any grapes produced by the processor to be paid by the processor who crushes 

the grapes during the 2016 marketing season beginning July 1, 2016 and ending June 30, 2017 one-half 

of the fee or five cents ($0.05) per ton of grapes received for crushing may be deducted from monies owed 

to the producer of the grapes. 

 

 

Karen Ross 

Secretary of Food and Agriculture 

 

 

By:  

 

Jeff Cesca, Director 

Division of Marketing Services  


