Grace Bediako

Dr. Bediako is the Government Statistician for the Ghana Statistical Service. She has held the position of director of the office for the last five years. She was previously the head of the Demographics Statistics Unit for the U.N. Statistics Commission in New York City. She has a Ph.D. in demography with a first degree in economics and statistics.


Penelope (Penny) Bidgood

Dr. Bidgood was appointed Chair of the Women in Statistics Committee at the 58th Congress in Dublin in 2011.  Penny is recently retired from Kingston University, London, where she was a Principal Lecturer in Statistics.  As well as teaching, Penny engaged in research in the applications of statistics, particularly in the medical and educational fields.  She is a Fellow of the Royal Statistical Society (RSS) and currently is Theme Director for Education, Careers and Recruitment to the Profession.  In this role she chairs the RSS Education Strategy Group and the Steering Committee for the RSS Centre of Statistical Education.   Penny has a keen interest in statistical education and is a member of IASE as well as being an elected member of ISI.


Siobhan Carey

Dr. Carey is Assistant Director General in the Central Statistics Office (CSO), Ireland where she leads the Social and Demographic Statistics programme. She joined the CSO from the Department for International Development in the United Kingdom (UK) where she was Chief Statistician. Prior to that she worked for 13 years in the Office for National Statistics, UK in the household survey area. Dr. Carey worked on many large-scaled household surveys with special emphasis on education and health. Working within the survey methods area, she focused on issues related to reducing non-response. She was Project Director for the EU methodological review of the International Adult Literacy Survey with a particular interest in comparative surveys design issues.


Cynthia Z.F. Clark

Dr. Clark is the Administrator of USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS). Previously she was Director of Methodology at the United Kingdom Office for National Statistics, and prior to that, Associate Director for Methodology and Standards at the U.S. Census Bureau. She has been a member of ISI since 1997. She served as chair of the ISI Committee on Women in Statistics from 2003 through 2011. She served as a board member of the International Association for Survey Statisticians from 1999-2003. She is a member of the Board of the American Statistical Association (2003-2005) and served as president of the Washington Statistical Society (2000-2001).


Martha Farrar

Ms. Farrar was Chief of the Data Collection Branch at the National Agricultural Statistics Service of the United States Department of Agriculture. She is a member of the American Statistical Association and has been an elected member of ISI since 2000. She has served as the ISI CWS webmaster since 2003. Martha served on the program committee for the Third International Conference on Agricultural Statistics (ICAS III) and the Organizing Committee for ICAS IV.


Sharleen Forbes

Dr. Forbes is an Adjunct Professor of Official Statistics at Victoria University, Wellington, New Zealand. She has been a university lecturer in statistics, teacher at a secondary school, and researcher in the educational field of statistics. She has been a government researcher and policy manager. Currently she works as a senior manager at Statistics Education. Sharleen received her PHD in statistics education from Curtin University of Technology in Perth, Australia. Active in the New Zealand Statistical Association, she is a past President, a committee member, and a member of the education subcommittee. She was honored with a lifetime membership and became the Campbell Award recipient of this association. She is a member of IASE, IAOS, and an elected member of ISI.


Tae Rim Lee

Dr. Lee is Chairman of the Department of Information Statistics at Korea National Open University (KNOU). She has worked in the field of Life Long Learning at KNOU for 23 years with particular emphasis in e-learning. During her term as director at KNOU e-Learning center, she presided over the Korea Alliance for Cyber Education with 89 universities. She is a Biostatistician with a PHD from Joongang University and is a past president of the Korean Biometric Society. She is currently the President of Korean Classification Section of KSS, President of the Korean Society Health Information and Statistics, and Director of Press of Korean Statistical Association.


Luay Shabaneh

Dr. Shabaneh is President of the Palestinian Central Bureau of Statistics (PCBS) since March 2005. The PCBS is the official statistical bureau in the Palestinian Territory and sole producer of official statistics in all fields of social, economic and environment.

Dr. Shabaneh's research interests are in Labour market dynamics, organizational development of statistical offices, and statistical monitoring systems. He implemented several consultancy missions for National and International Institutes and for UN agencies. He is currently the Secretary General of the Palestinian Statistical Advisory Council and a member of the following: Board of Palestine Academy of Scientific Research, ISI (International Statistical Institute), International Association of Official Statistics (IAOS), Board of trustees - Arab institute for training and statistical research, and the Steering Committee, PARIS21(an international initiative for partnership in statistics in the 21st century).


Denise Silva

Dr. Silva is a principal methodologist at the Office for National Statistics - UK where she is the head of the Small Area Estimation Branch. She previously worked for almost 20 years at the Brazilian Central Statistical Office (IBGE) in the design and analysis of household and business surveys. In addition to her posts in official statistics she has several years of experience as a lecturer, teaching a wide range of statistical courses for undergraduate and postgraduate programmes as well as professional development courses. She is a member of the Brazilian Statistical Association, where she served on the council as the treasurer from 2004 to 2006, and is also a member of the ISI and the IASS. Her main research interests focus on small area estimation, time series analysis, the design and analysis of sample surveys and statistical modelling in the social sciences. She completed her PhD in Statistics at the University of Southampton and has an MSc and a BSc in Statistics.


Ene-Margit Tiit

Dr. Tiit, a professor emeritus from the University of Tartu, Estonia, is currently a methodologist in the team of Census 2011 at Statistics Estonia . Dr Tiit has been a member of ISI since 1991, a member of the Association of Computational Statistics, and has worked in Educational Statistics organizing an international seminar in Estonia and a section for the ISI meeting in Istanbul.


Caucus for Women in Statistics (CWIS) representative

The CWIS Executive Committee appoints a past president of CWIS to the CWS for a two year term. The CWIS Representative is responsible for writing and sharing articles on women' issues in the statistics profession.

2012-2013 CWS representative: Marcia Ciol

Future representatives:

2014 -2015 CWS representative: Jennifer Parker
2016 -2017 CWS representative: Amanda Golbeck


ISI Council member serving as liaison with the CWS:

Awa Thiongane is a Senior Regional Advisor of the African Centre for Statistics of the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA). She became the first female head of a National Statistical Office in Africa when appointed Director of Statistics for the Government of Senegal.



Last Modified: 08/07/2012